Murder and Manslaughter

Third Degree Murder

I Was Charged With Third Degree Murder In Florida. Will I Go To Jail?

Third Degree Murder occurs when someone unintentionally kills another person while committing, or attempting to commit, a non-violent felony.

What Are The Penalties For Third Degree Murder In Florida?

Third Degree Murder is a Second Degree Felony in Florida. If convicted, you are subject to the following
penalties:

  • Minimum-mandatory 10 ½ years in prison.
  • Up to 15 years in prison.
  • Up to 15 years of probation.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

Second Degree Murder

I Was Charged With Second Degree Murder In Florida. Will I Go To Jail?

Second Degree Murder in Florida occurs in two ways:

1.  Murder With A Depraved Mind?

Pursuant to Florida law, Murder with a Depraved Mind occurs when someone kills another person, without premeditation, by an act imminently dangerous to another and evincing a depraved mind showing no regard for human life.

2.  Accomplish Felony Murder?

Pursuant to Florida law, Accomplice Felony Murder occurs when someone is an accomplice to a person who kills another human being while engaged in the commission, or attempted commission, of the following felonies:

  • Aggravated abuse of an elderly person or disabled person,
  • Aggravated child abuse,
  • Aggravated stalking,
  • Aircraft piracy,
  • Arson,
  • Burglary,
  • Carjacking,
  • Drug Distribution,
  • Escape,
  • Home Invasion Robbery,
  • Kidnapping,
  • Murder,
  • Rape
  • Resisting Arrest,
  • Robbery,
  • Terrorism,
  • Drug Trafficking,
  • Unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive device or bomb.

That Are The Penalties For Second Degree Murder In Florida?

Second Degree Murder is a First Degree Felony in Florida. If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Minimum-mandatory 16 ¾ years in prison.
  • Up to Life in prison.
  • Up to Life on probation.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

What Is The 10/20/Life Firearm Enhancement?

Pursuant to Florida law, the 10/20/Life statute applies to a person convicted of using a firearm to commit a Second Degree Murder. If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • A minimum 10 year prison term;
  • A minimum 20 year prison term if the firearm was discharged; and
  • A minimum 25 year prison term if someone is injured or killed by a firearm.

First Degree Murder

What Is Premeditated Murder?

Premeditated murder occurs when someone kills another human being pursuant to a pre-planned act or scheme.

What Is Felony Murder?

Felony murder occurs when someone kills another human being while engaged in the commission, or attempted commission, of the following felonies:

  • Aggravated abuse of an elderly person or disabled person,
  • Aggravated child abuse,
  • Aggravated stalking,
  • Aircraft piracy,
  • Arson,
  • Burglary,
  • Carjacking,
  • Drug Distribution,
  • Escape,
  • Home Invasion Robbery,
  • Kidnapping,
  • Murder,
  • Rape
  • Resisting Arrest,
  • Robbery,
  • Terrorism,
  • Drug Trafficking,
  • Unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive device or bomb.

What Are The Penalties For Robbery In Florida?

First Degree Murder is a Capital Offense in Florida. If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Death, or
  • Life without the possibility of parole.

Aggravated Manslaughter Of A Child

I Was Charged With Aggravated Manslaughter Of A Child In Florida. Will I Go To Jail?

Aggravated Manslaughter of a Child is when someone:

  • Causes the death of a child,
  • The child’s death was caused by the defendant’s culpable negligence,
  • The defendant was a caregiver to the child, and
  • The defendant’s culpable negligence constituted Neglect of a Child.

What Are The Penalties For Aggravated Manslaughter Of A Child?

Aggravated Manslaughter of a Child is a First Degree Felony in Florida. If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Minimum-mandatory 16 ¾ years in prison.
  • Up to Life in prison.
  • Up to Life on probation.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

Contact Us Get Help Now

Charged with a Crime?

Fight DUI Charges

-->