Sex Crime

Unlawful Sexual Activity With Certain Minors

I Was Charged With Unlawful Sexual Activity With Certain Minors In Florida.  Will I Go To Jail?

Unlawful Sexual Activity with Certain Minors in Florida occurs when:

  1. The minor was 16 or 17 years of age;
  2. The Defendant was 24 years of age or older; and
  3. The Defendant engaged in consensual sexual activity with the minor.

Ignorance and Mistake is not defense to this charge.  Therefore, it is not a defense that the minor lied about their age or if the defendant truly believed the minor was 18 years of age or older.

Additionally, under Florida law, a minor 15 years of age or younger is considered not capable of consenting to sex.  As a result, even if the child verbally consented, it is considered a Rape.

What Are The Penalties For Unlawful Sexual Activity With Certain Minors In Florida?

Unlawful Sexual Activity with Certain Minors is a Second Degree Felony in Florida.  If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Up to fifteen (15) years in prison.
  • Up to fifteen (15) years of probation for sex offenders.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

If Convicted, Will I Be Placed On The Sexual Offender Registry?

Yes, in addition to being placed on probation for sex offenders, you would also be deemed a sexual offender in Florida.  As a sexual offender, you must comply with the sexual offender registration laws in Florida for life.

Traveling To Meet A Minor To Commit An Unlawful Sex Act

I Was Charged With Traveling To Meet A Minor To Commit An Unlawful Sexual Act In Florida.  Will I Go To Jail?

Traveling to Meet a Minor to Commit an Unlawful Sex Act in Florida occurs when someone:

  1. Uses an on-line service, internet service, or electronic device to seduce, solicit, lure, or entice a person believed to be a minor child to engage in an unlawful sexual conduct; and
  2. Travels any distance within Florida, from Florida, or to Florida for the purpose of engaging in sexual conduct with the child.

What Are The Penalties For Traveling To Meet A Minor To Commit An Unlawful Sexual Act In Florida?

Traveling to Meet a Minor to Commit an Unlawful Sex Act is a Second Degree Felony in Florida.  If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Minimum-mandatory 21 months in prison.
  • Up to fifteen (15) years in prison.
  • Up to fifteen (15) years of probation for sex offenders.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

Soliciting A Child For Unlawful Sex

I Was Charged With Soliciting A Child For Unlawful Sex In Florida.  Will I Go To Jail?

Soliciting a Child for Unlawful Sex in Florida occurs when someone:

  1. Uses an online service, internet service, or electronic device capable of data storage or transmission to seduce, solicit, lure, or entice a person believed to be a minor child to engage in an unlawful sexual conduct.

What Are The Penalties For Soliciting A Child For Unlawful Sexual Conduct In Florida?

Soliciting a Child for Unlawful Sexual Conduct Using a Computer is a Third Degree Felony in Florida.  If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Minimum-mandatory 21 months in prison.
  • Up to five (5) years in prison.
  • Up to five (5) years of probation for sex offenders.
  • Up to $5,000 in fines.

Prostitution

I Was Charged With Prostitution In Florida. Will I Go To Jail?

Prostitution in Florida is defined as the giving or receiving of the body for sexual activity for hire.  Prostitution has eight separate acts which are as follows:

  1. Owning or Operating a Building for Purposes of Prostitution
  2. Offering up Another Person to Engage in Prostitution
  3. Offering a Place for Prostitution to Occur
  4. Directing or Transporting a Person to a Place of Prostitution
  5. Offering to Engage in Prostitution
  6. Solicitation of Another to Commit Prostitution
  7. Entering or Remaining in a Place for Prostitution
  8. Hiring a Person Engaged in Prostitution

What Are The Penalties For Prostitution In Florida?

First offense Prostitution is a Second Degree Misdemeanor.  If convicted you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Up to sixty (60) days in jail.
  • Up to six (6) months of probation.
  • Up to $500 in fines.

Second offense Prostitution is a First Degree Misdemeanor.  If convicted you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Up to twelve (12) months in jail.
  • Up to twelve (12) months of probation.
  • Up to $1,000 in fines.

Third offense Prostitution is a Third Degree Felony in Florida.  If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

  • Up to five (5) years in prison.
  • Up to five (5) years of probation.
  • Up to $5,000 in fines.

Contact Us Get Help Now

Charged with a Crime?

Fight DUI Charges

-->